He walks through the door to his mind.

Have you ever heard the expression, “My mind is like a bag of cats”? Well mine is, at anyone point in the day I am running at least eight windows open with eight different worlds and a million characters in my mind. Lose stories faster than I can write them down. I have been this way my whole life. I honestly can’t remember a time when my imagination hasn’t been cranked up to 11. 

Sometimes I wonder if it’s just a biproduct of my ADHD. Or maybe my ADHD is a biproduct of my imagination. Chicken and the egg sort of business I guess. Anyway, I am a writer in the process of finding a publisher for my first book and in the process of working on my next. I wanted to find a way to share my journey with people and see if others had ideas or interesting anecdotes about the twists and turns of being a writer.

I heard that some publishing houses have idea men/women. People who came up with ideas for authors. They would put together the story and the author would write it. Seems like a fun job but also one that seemed a bit sad that someone else was working a story that you created. But I think with an imagination factory like me, I have plenty of stories to spare. Maybe if I get my foot in the door somewhere I can become one of the idea people. 

I hope you enjoy my blog and my adventure and I hope that you will be entertained! Thanks! 

-Rio Martin

#adhd #dealing #writing

Leave a Reply

